Skip to content ↓

Academy Council


Ray Moorcroft Chair
Stephen Bradshaw Interim Chief Executive Officer
Paul Todd Headteacher
Victoria Jones (Tor) Support Staff Representative 
Vacancy Teaching Staff Representative 
Margaret Tanner Academy Councillor
Elizabeth Hackling Academy Councillor
Jonathan Hucker Parent/Carer Representative 
Vacancy  Parent/Carer Representative 


To contact the Clerk please telephone 0117 456 6513 or email using 


The Chair of the Academy Council, Ray Moorcroft can be contacted using

Link Roles

Role Councillor with Responsibility 
Finance Councillor Ray Moorcroft 
Health and Safety Councillor Ray Moorcroft
Pupil Premium Councillor Margaret Tanner 
Safeguarding Councillor VACANT
Children in Care Councillor  VACANT
Young Carers Councillor  VACANT
Curriculum Margaret Tanner
Special Educational Needs & Disability Councillor  Margaret Tanner

Meet the Academy Council

Paul Todd  


Appointed by Learn@ MAT Board, Ex-Officio

As the Headteacher at Lansdown Park Academy, Paul has developed excellent working relationships with Primary and Secondary Schools in South Bristol and the Local Authority where Lansdown Park Academy has worked to ensure young people are assessed appropriately to move on to their next educational destinations.   As a result of good working relationships there has been an increase in the number of pupils successfully returning to mainstream and specialist schools (with EHCP’s) and a reduced number of pupils moving onto other alternative provisions. 


Ray Moorcroft,

Chair of Lansdown Park Academy Council

Appointed by Learn@ MAT Board from 05 October 2020 - 04 October 2023

Link Trutee

Married to his wife Jan. He has two daughters and six grandchildren. Ray retired in 2013 after 40 years’ service with an International Company based in Bristol where he gained a depth of financial and procurement acumen.

Ray now enjoys playing snooker, holidays, going to the gym and child minding.

Margaret Tanner

Appointed by Learn@ MAT Board from 28 November 2021 - 27 November 2024


After graduating from Bristol University in 1966 Margaret completed her PGCE in Cardiff where she remained for a year working in a secondary school with less able students.  Margaret moved to Florence Brown School in Bristol working with young people aged between 5 and 8 years old.  In 1984 Margaret set up a Learning Support Unit for primary schools in South Bristol, observing, supporting and working with children with special educational needs in mainstream schools.

In 1998 Margaret was appointed Deputy Head with responsibility for coordinating the delivery and monitoring of a broad and balanced curriculum, including the developing of assessment policies, mentoring and supporting staff, arranging supply cover and liaising with outside agencies.

Margaret has a love of theatre, regularly seeing plays In Bristol and Bath. Music has also played a big part in her life with Margaret going to concerts at St George’s and seeing Welsh National Opera productions in Cardiff and is a member of a  Good Afternoon Choir” in Bath.

Since retirement, apart from the delights of spending time with three grandchildren in Bristol, Margaret has been a volunteer at Julian House in Bath. She is also involved with “Month in Bath” an audio magazine for visually impaired residents.

Margaret enjoys being involved in her local village activities: baking for the twice a month coffee shop held in the church, joining the walking group every Monday morning (whatever the weather) and supporting a monthly village market.


Tor (Victoria) Jones, Support Staff Representative 

Elected by staff from 23 September 2020 - 22 September 2023

Tor has lived in South Gloucestershire all her life. She is a busy Mum of 3 boys. 

She has worked in Mental Health and Learning disabilities for 24 years, starting her career in Hanham Hall hospital with the elderly who coped with dementia and learning disabilities. She then continued supporting young adults with mental health and learning disabilities to live independently in their local community.

She started working in education in 2005 as a Teaching Assistant in a mainstream secondary school where she stayed for 6 years supporting SEND, EAL and inclusion, sparking an interest in young people struggling to access mainstream education.

In 2012, Tor was successful in her application to join the Special Schools Nursing Team in Bristol, where she stayed for 6 years delivering PSHE, drop in clinics, delivering mental health and well-being support, sexual health advice and continence support.

Tor became a Learning Mentor for Lansdown Park Academy Rush Hill in Sept 2018. With her knowledge of mental health, Tor secured the Advanced Mental Health and Well Being Badge for Lansdown Park Academy via Bristol City Council. She is the Lead for Mental Health and Wellbeing across Rush Hill, embedded the Thrive Approach to support the nurture and emotional wellbeing of students, and is Mental Health first aid trained.

 Being a Lead DSL (Designated Safeguarding Lead) on site she supports SLT with the most vulnerable students accessing the provision. Tor's vision is to continue with mental health and well-being support at Rush Hill, capturing the voice of the child at the fore front of the provision, and continued  professional development to ensure young people receive the best quality of pastoral support available. 

Tor has achieved Level 3 and  Level 4 "City and Guilds Work with Parents", Roehampton University National PSHE CPD Programme module, alongside many CAMHS courses for supporting Mental Health and attachment.

Tor has a love of nature, in particular hedgehogs, and is an avid bird spotter using photography alongside.


Elizabeth Hackling

Appointed by Learn@ MAT Board from 18 July 2022 - 17 July 2025

After graduating from UWE in 2002, Elizabeth completed her PGCE at Bristol University. For the next five years she worked in two Secondary Schools across the Clifton Diocese as a science teacher and head of year.   In 2008, Elizabeth moved to Granada and taught in an international school before returning to Bridge Learning Campus in 2009 as head of science and then assistant head. She is currently responsible for personal development and wellbeing across the campus.   In the past Elizabeth has held governor roles at Wansdyke Primary and Parson Street Primary Schools.


Jonathan Hucker 

Appointed by Lern@ MAT Board from 20 June 2022 - 19 June 2025

Jonathan is a Councillor for Stockwood Ward on Bristol City Council, having been elected in May 2021. He serves on many council committees and is also a member of the Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Panel. Jonathan is an accountant by profession. He has many years’ experience and has held senior roles in business. He is active in the voluntary sector, being a Director and Trustee of Dr Thomas Whites Charity and a Trustee of the Rotary Club of Bristol South. He has previously served as a governor of Bedminster Down School.




Please contact Elizabeth Jahn, Clerk, for further information if you are interested in joining Lansdown Park Academy Council: